SVG

CARICOM heads in solidarity concerning bribery accusation — Gonsalves

Prime Minister Dr. Ralph Gonsalves (File photo).

Prime Minister Dr. Ralph Gonsalves (File photo).

KINGSTOWN, St. Vincent, Feb. 20, IWN – Prime Minister Dr. Ralph Gonsalves says that CARICOM leaders are in solidarity with him as he faces a reported accusation that an investor went to his office with money and left without it.

“I put my faith and trust in the people of St. Vincent and the Grenadines and the Caribbean. … I have nothing to hide,” Gonsalves said yesterday on WE FM in one of his several calls to two radio stations here about the alleged suggestion of bribery.

He said on Sunday that a man, whom he did not name, had told him that two BBC journalists had shown him a video in which Opposition Leader Arnhim Eustace charged that Buccament Bay Resort investor, Dave Ames, had taken a container of money to the Office of the Prime Minister.

Eustace on Monday denied making such an accusation and Matthew Chapman, the producer of the BBC “Panorama” episode to be made about Harlequin, told I-Witness News on Tuesday that the crew of the show has no such video.

Gonsalves is attending a CARICOM meeting in Haiti, from where he made the call to WE FM’s “Shake-up” yesterday.

“And I reported it (the accusation) also to the CARICOM heads. I reported it yesterday and they have provided support for me. In fact, one head who is not present here, he sent a note this morning by his minister.

“… His minister reported that his prime minister said to tell Ralph he has my full solidarity, and he said he had made several attempts to call me but was unsuccessful,” Gonsalves said.

“And I have received nothing but full support from my colleagues. Because they know me as being a person who is known for my anti-corruption efforts for more than 12 years — my 12 years in office and before, my reputation for financial probity — and they know me.

“… They know and they can accept my assurances that these accusations are baseless, without foundation,” Gonsalves said.

“I have served my people faithfully and well. I know that my supporters will believe me straight away. I know that there are some [opposition] NDP (New Democratic Party) supporters who would want to hear anything bad about Ralph. I urge them please not to treat their prime minister in this manner,” Gonsalves said.

Discussion

6 thoughts on “CARICOM heads in solidarity concerning bribery accusation — Gonsalves

  1. “Gonsalves says that CARICOM leaders are in solidarity with him as he faces a reported accusation that an investor went to his office with money and left without it”.

    ‘Gonsalves says’, did anyone confirm with CARICOM that they said such a thing.

    Gonsalves said “a man, whom he did not name, had told him that two BBC journalists had shown him a video in which Opposition Leader Arnhim Eustace charged that Buccament Bay Resort investor, Dave Ames, had taken a container of money to the Office of the Prime Minister”.

    Now if that is untrue, or if Gonsalves cannot prove that “Arnhim Eustace charged that Buccament Bay Resort investor, Dave Ames, had taken a container of money to the Office of the Prime Minister” I would advise Mr Eustace to require that Gonsalves or his lawyers take $251,000 dollars to Mr Eustace and make a statement in local newspapers about it being untrue.

    If Gonsalves is stupid enough to repeat unconfirmed chatter, he should pay the price.

    Posted by peterbinose | February 20, 2013, 10:29
  2. Why not just wait for the Panorama report, and make our minds up after seeing the evidence.

    Posted by peterbinose | February 20, 2013, 10:31
  3. Peter, you’re GOING to be PROVEN ONCE again that you’re NOTHING more than an EMPTY BARREL when you see the CARICOM PRESS RELEASE.

    Posted by VINCYPOWA | February 20, 2013, 14:01
  4. i have not seen you comment on i witness news about the rape on the kid. I would think that a topic that need chatting about. It seems like you only have beef with the PM shame on you.

    Posted by Darkie Browne | February 20, 2013, 20:57
  5. Peter am in SVG so often and I do see poverty and some of the same people who want to shut you down may be the same ones facing the poverty and who are panicing to pay off their bills at the month end.Continue to say what you have to say peter just doint make it sound like libel because Gonsalves will want to sue you. Well when Gonsalves proven a liar,Eustace should take him to court for defamation of character. He should take him to court in another caribbean island if it is possible to do so, because since Gonsalves got into power something seemed to has gone wrong with the court system. Gonsalves either win all his cases or the court upheld to throw them out. SVG Govt seems like a damm false Govt to me since Gonsalves took power.

    Posted by profdasilva | February 22, 2013, 00:04
  6. Thank you for the sound advice PROFDASILVA, I keep that always in the forefront of my mind when writing or commenting about Gonsalves.

    I shall be writing to all members of the Judiciary pointing out all the known lies that he has uttered, and telling them that he is a self confessed liar, therefore in my view any statements he may make to any court or hearing cannot be relied upon.

    There, not a word out of place, no libel, and no disrespect to those that deserve respect.

    Now thats what you call true diplomacy, send me Camillo, I will try and teach him a thing or two.

    Posted by peterbinose | February 26, 2013, 18:38

I-Witness News’ tweets

Archives

