Reader's Opinions, Vincy Mas 2012

Stop picking your kaiso winner based on 1 song [OPINION]

By Wade Kojo Williams, Sr.

I listened to the ULP Women’s Show tonight (Thursday night) and had to sake my head hearing many callers setting up themselves for disappointment and to “cuss out” the judges after the results in the Calypso Finals are announced.

The callers are forgetting that, so far, most of us only heard ONE calypso from most of the Calypsonians. On Friday Night in the Semis, the competitors will each sing one calypso. But in the Finals they will each sing two calypsos.

Having only heard only one calypso from each of these bards, we should not be pronouncing who will win.

Based on the one calypso I have heard from most of them, I have Tajoe, Sunny Banks, FyaEmpress, Bro Ebony and Shanell/Ipa in the top five spots. Had Fyahman been selected for the Semis, based on the one calypso – “Ratatouille” — he would have been out there too.

I have about 20 of them recorded via RealPlayer and play them over and over. I have already memorised Tajoe, Bro Ebony, FyaEmpress’.

So why I do not have the people’s favourite (Bro Ebony) to be a clear winner based on the one song? Well for starters, Bro Ebony’s Calypso (lyrically) is a classic. The melody and rhythm are soft. He will have to do something to the melody before he goes to the Big Yard.

Tajoe’s calypso is very topical and current. It comes at a time when the nation is being called upon to do something about domestic violence against women. Tajoe’s is well written (soft in a few spots) but the melody and rhythm is far superior and sounds more like authentic calypso than does Bro Ebony’s.

Don’t count out Sunny Banks and FyaEmpress, their offerings are very good. Sunny Banks’ “Violence Against Men” may not go down with the large female crowd on Finals night. But remember the judges judge on Originality, Melody, Lyrics and Presentation. Not on crowd response.

So there you have it. And that is just one man’s opinion.

Aryo nah tell me stop inna Canada an keep mi mouth outa aryo business!! LOL

Follow our FeedFollow on FacebookFollow on Twitter

Discussion

5 thoughts on “Stop picking your kaiso winner based on 1 song [OPINION]

  1. It is going to come down to TAJOE, BROTHA EBONY and FYA EMPRESS WINNING the CALYPSO CROWN.

    TAJOE RENDITION is HARD HITTING and should go OVER well with the JUDGES.

    However, my PERSONAL FAVORITE is BROTHA EBONY’S “NOTHING AT ALL.”

    I have DEEMED that song to be an INSTANT CLASSIC. It is one of the most CREATIVE CALYPSO songs that I have heard in a VERY LONG TIME and it CAPTURED my ATTENTION IMMEDIATELY when I HEARD it.

    FYA EMPRESS’ “I AM WOMAN” will most DEFINITELY go over well, especially with WOMEN. Moreover, she is an EXCELLENT STAGE PERFORMER, so I EXPECT her to DELIVER that song EXPERTLY on STAGE.

    Posted by VINCYPOWA | June 21, 2012, 11:38
  2. THE ONLY PERSON WHO HAS A CASE AGAINST ZION I IS CASTRO! CASTRO COULD SUE ZION I ON BEHALF OF THE CUBANS. HOW CAN ZION I SAY THE CUBANS EAT OUT FOOD CITY…CAN ZION I PROVE IN A COURT OF LAW THAT THE CUBANS EAT OUT FOOD CITY?…LOL!!!!

    GO BRAVE ZION I! NBC IS A WEAK HEART AND A NATIONAL DISGRACE.

    By the way, the best song in the Semi-finals…is by BROTHER EBONY…clever writing, melody on point and the musical composition is vintage….gone clear to the FINALS!

    POSTED BY SAADISS | JUNE 12, 2012, 22:26

    Posted by Saadiss | June 21, 2012, 13:22
  3. TWO PARTICULAR THEMES WERE QUITE EVIDENT IN THE CALYPSO SEMI-FINALS: THE POWER/PLIGHT OF WOMEN AND THE UNIFICATION OF SVG. The political social commentary was far and wide in between. It appears there was a concerted effort to stay clear of any political commentary. Zion I DID NOT GET THAT MEMO. ZION I rendition was flawless.

    The best rendition of the WOMAN’S theme was by Queen B, even though FYA EMPRESS ENUNCIATION AND PURE CLARITY OF VOICE WAS SUPERIOR, Queen B song was better in melody, lyrics and music.

    I think REJECTOR had the best unification song, although I would have prefer he did the “pan” song…I think the passage of time is catching up with Rejector and so his voice is not as good as before…at some parts of the song he struggled to keep his range and will have to work on that for the finals.

    I like Realty’s song; its one of the better written songs on display. I also believe HERO’S song is the most technical composition of the night…lyrically and musically…I think the melody suffered a bit because they overcompensated in those two areas. Mystery was in full cry but again, has a similar problem to Hero, trying to hard lyrically…it was an overload. Ah have to say, the most disingenuous song of the night was by SONNY BANKS…WOMEN TAKE OVER IN SVG? WTF! Banks mentioned a few “political” positions given to women and somehow concluded that women are taking over…its arguably one of the worst songs I have heard in a Semi’s and was perplex as to how he got into the semifinals in the first place.

    All in all, I think the standard was moderate… the lyrical composition of many songs are half-arse and I am struggling to pick a song that is worthy of the crown. The strength of the “second” song will really be a factor for most of the finalists. Having listened to Rejector’s TWO songs, he is a strong contender for the crown…Vibrating Scakes, song tonite was very good and with a strong second song, could also be in contention. Of course Brother Ebony is the crowd favorite and also with a good second song could be in for a coronation.

    Here are my 11 finalists:

    BROTHER EBONY

    JOY-C

    HERO

    VIBRATING SCAKES

    QUEEN B

    MYSTERY

    ABIJAH

    REALTY

    REJECTOR

    ZION I

    IPA

    With one or two differences, I can’t see the judges straying too far off the reservation. I suspect HERO and REALTY might be the ones getting the axe in favor of other popular choices, such as Poorsah and Empress…But I don’t think poorsah and Empress deserves to be in the finals as their respective songs were the weakest of similar themes.

    Tajoe will sleep peacefully tonight having heard the battle cries of his enemies. Or will he?

    Canst thou, O partial sleep, give thy repose
    To the wet sea-boy in an hour so rude,
    And in the calmest and most stillest night,
    With all appliances and means to boot,
    Deny it to a king? Then happy low, lie down!
    Uneasy lies the head that wears a crown.

    Posted by Saadiss | June 23, 2012, 01:58
  4. Well is either I am out of my @#$% mind or the JUDGES IN THE CALYPSO SEMI-FINALS ARE ON CRACK!!! WTF…just seen the final list…and I can’t believe my eyes…SONNY BANKS IN THE FINALS? OMG what a laugh…BUMPI? MAN ZANGE?…I picked 11 instead of 10, my bad…I would have left off IPA, from my original list…but how the hell SUNNY BANKS IS IN THE FINALS?….LAWD…NO HERO? NO VIBRATING SCAKES? POORSAH SONG IS NOT BETTER THAN SCAKES…I HAVE NO PROBLEM WITH EMPRESS…SHE SANG WELL…MY PERSONAL PREFERENCE WOULD HAVE BEEN QUEEN B…but those other picks in Bump-I MAN ZANGE AND SUNNY BANKS????….THE THREE MOST ATROCIOUS SONGS OF THE NIGHT..WHO WERE THOSE JUDGES, JASON AND VINCYPOWA?

    Laaawd, you might as well give the CROWN TO REJECTOR…cause he has the BEST SONG in the finals as it stands now…and that “pan” song is very good….Tajoe is laughing is arse off now…THE JUDGES JUST MADE IS TASK MUCH EASIER THAN PREVIOUSLY THOUGHT.

    HERO WAS RIGHT!!!…THE JUDGES ARE SUZIE, AND NEED TO COME OUT OF THE RAIN…PUT DOWN THE CRACK PIPE, JUDGES.

    Posted by Saadiss | June 23, 2012, 12:14
  5. Correction: BUMP I is the one who did the woman take over song…NOT Sunny Banks as I mentioned above. Still can’t believe this song is in the finals…ah wonder how many women were the judges?..lol

    Posted by Saadiss | June 23, 2012, 12:53

I-Witness News’ tweets

Archives

