SVG

How I followed my dream to priesthood

By Caroline Layne

Caroline Layne.

I am taking this opportunity to share my story with you and trust that you will see it fit to publish it on your website. My name is Caroline Layne born on the island of St. Vincent and the Grenadines, now residing in the greater Toronto area for over 40 years.

I was brought up in a religious home in the town of Barrouallie where my parents were members of the Anglican Church. My entire family worshipped at St. Patrick’s Anglican Church. Within me, I had the urge to pursue Scripture from a theological point of view and in 2002 I graduated from the University of Toronto’s Wycliffe College with a diploma in lay ministry. I lazed around for a few more years, and in 2006 I felt as though I was called once again to the classroom, and decided to go back to college and pursue my dream.

I was accepted again, this time at the University of Toronto’s Trinity College. There, I pursued my studies as a seminarian for six years on a part-time basis while working at a full-time job. On May 8 at 8 p.m., I will graduate with a master of divinity with the intention of becoming an Anglican priest.

I am delighted to share this story because I am the first Vincentian woman who has done this program at Trinity College. During my studies, I was faced with the death of my mother, Mrs. Mary Layne and last year, the death of my father Mr. Frederick Layne. I am a mother and grandmother, a sister to my seven brothers, an aunt, mother-in-law and sister-in-law. While undergoing my studies, I volunteered in the Pastoral Department at the Birchmount/Scarborough General Hospital in Toronto and kept up with my worship week after week.

I am sharing this with you to encourage all young people, to follow their dreams, and in addition, to encourage other women that it is never too late to study and to make a commitment especially if it is to do the things in which our LORD and SAVIOUR JESUS would find delight.

Follow our FeedFollow on FacebookFollow on Twitter

Discussion

10 thoughts on “How I followed my dream to priesthood

  1. Congratulations, the journey continues.

    Posted by Dr. Bernard Mills | May 7, 2012, 07:02
  2. An uplifting, inspiring and encouraging story. Born in the North Leeward town of Chateaubelair, confirmed in the parish of St. David and being a practicing Anglican currently living in Montreal, I am delighted to hear of you and I applaud you sincerely. Many blessings this day and always. And thank you, Kenton, for bringing the story to us.

    Posted by Jeannine James | May 7, 2012, 08:01
  3. Ms Carolyn Layne congratulation to you. I just hope that vincentians at home read and understand what vincentians and other folks abroad have to undergo to achieve their goals in life. How much of our people in Vincyland are willing to work fulltime and go to school part time for six yreas!I my self spent the same amount of time in University and work full time when I wanted a second degree. When ever I am in Vincyland many of young people I come across are carried away by quick and shortterm goals. Some of them don’t even want to work and if they do work for you they do little,demand big pay and still didn’t do the job properly. It seems like a new evolution in philosophy has captured the minds of the the folks in our land of birth.

    Posted by Danniel8 | May 7, 2012, 08:26
  4. The hard work entailed here is especially commendable, bearing in mind the tremendous responsibilities that Ms. Layne had to shoulder in the same period. My interest in this story goes a bit further, humanly, in wondering if there is some sort of relation. My great aunt Lydia Dorothy lived in Barrouallie most of her life, until recently; from childhood, we knew her as aunt Vee Vee Layne. Maybe just a coincidence. Fammo or not, just commendable work. Don’t leave out even further studies or specialization. My best fof the future, and thanks for sharing your story with us.

    Posted by STEVE_ HUGGINS | May 7, 2012, 10:36
  5. Well done. when a Vincy person anywhere succeeds in life, through hard work and determination, we should all be happy. Congrats

    Posted by blane | May 7, 2012, 11:38
  6. CAROLYN, doing what your doing and achieving what your achieving is wonderful. But with it comes a responsibility to try and protect Gods children.

    We are under the control of an evil Marxist regime posing as Christians, but who worship Obeah, please help us and pray for us, we need all the help that we can get.

    Posted by PETER | May 7, 2012, 12:14
  7. Dear Caroline,
    What is so excited about the word “possibilities” is that it jump-start ones imagination, motivates and re-energizes; giving you the will that is necessary to move on with life’s dreams. I am very proud of you girlfriend.

    The famous Thomas Jefferson quotes “I like dreams of the future better than the history of the past.”

    Way to go!!

    Posted by Elma | May 7, 2012, 14:10
  8. Carolyn, congratulation! Continue your Lord’s work and let your life’s work speak for you.

    Posted by David Joyette | May 7, 2012, 19:28
  9. Congratulatoins “Carro” Your dedication and commitment in your pursuit of this great achievment is indeed comendable. I hpoe you enjoy to the fullest, your graduation tomorrow.
    Have a Blessed Day

    Posted by jilwil | May 7, 2012, 20:53

Archives

