SVG

Gonsalves weeps after visiting Manning in hospital

Former Trinidad and Tobago prime minister Patrick Manning suffered a mild stroke on Monday (Internet photo).

KINGSTOWN, St. Vincent – An emotional Prime Minister Dr. Ralph Gonsalves wept in Trinidad yesterday after visiting in hospital former prime minister Patrick Manning who suffered a mild stroke on Monday.

“These are tears of joy for seeing him and see how he is recovering. It’s a remarkable recovery for somebody who has had a stroke, but of course there is still a journey to travel. We must give him his time to rest and heal. He is obviously getting excellent treatment,” Gonsalves said after a two-hour visit with Manning.

Gonsalves did not say what he and Manning spoke about during the visit but said his long time friend was happy to see him.

“His eyes lit up. He smiled. I wouldn’t tell you about what he spoke about. The bond is there. There was a lot of joy. He will get better,” Gonsalves told reporters in San Fernando, Trinidad.

“I should tell you I love Patrick. You know I love him. He has been my friend since university. We played pan together. We did a lot of things together. We worked well when he was in government. I have remained his friend through all the ups and downs of politics. He is my brother. I didn’t spend a long time with him. I just wanted was for him to see my eyes and for him to see my eyes, and the love we have for each other,” Gonsalves added.

He further said that during the visit he prayed with Manning and gave him an autobiography, which contains some pictures of both of them, and a diary that Gonsalves wrote about a ten-day visit at Mount St Benedict in 2005.

Follow our FeedFollow on FacebookFollow on Twitter

Discussion

11 thoughts on “Gonsalves weeps after visiting Manning in hospital

  1. Can some body tell me if Gonsalves used these kinds of word when Glen Jackson was executed
    :I should tell you I love you Jackson.You know I love him. He has been my friend since on the radio talk show. We worked well when he was in my Government. I have remained his friend through all the up and down of politics. He is my brother.I should of have him with me that day. I just wanted for him to see my eyes and I see his and the love we had for each other. WHO IS THE BRAVE ONE.

    Posted by Prof-Dasilva | January 28, 2012, 09:13
  2. My NUTTY and DECEITFUL PROFESSOR seems not to know the HISTORY and FRIENDSHIP between PATRICK MANNING and Dr. RALPH GONSALVES which goes back to their days at UWI.

    Mr. DASILVA, I suggest that you STICK to the ISSUE at hand and stop with the SILLY RED HERRING EMOTIONALISM

    Posted by vincypowa | January 28, 2012, 12:08
  3. Look in the mirror Gonsalves and weep again, its nearly the life span of a cane toad, nearly your time oh evil one, time to croak.

    By the way I asked the Americans to turn off the liar machine that they been testing on you. They said the switch broken, for the time we will have to put up with your lies and signing agreements that are unconstitutional.

    I just hope they don’t put the cancer machine on you that Chavez told the world about.

    Those evil Americans, keep voting in the UN for all the scum nations, just to piss them off. I think it may well be working.

    Well all you Marxist collaborators get your skates on and see what you can do with this post.

    VincyPowa we await your usual crap.

    Prof Dasilva, Gonsalves loved Glen Jackson also, I think more than his woman, but they fell out and whilst Gonsalves out of the country someone asassinated him, I think he was about to talk on TV and expose something big.

    Gonsalves away again, I hope he wear his stockings and suspender belt.

    WAKE UP AND SMELL THE SULPHUR

    Posted by Peter | January 28, 2012, 12:20
  4. VincyPowa I never in anyway indicated that Gonsalves should ignore his long time friendship for Mannings I simple ask if he had expressed the similar feelings for Glen Jackson. I don’t think any thing is wrong to scrutinize a man modus operandi in relation to certain perspective with similarity images. Peter thanks for the information and thanks for not being judgemental like that lunatic Vincy Powa.

    Posted by Prof-Dasilva | January 28, 2012, 13:30
  5. ONE CAN SEE FAKE WHEN ONE. SEES IT. HOPE HE DID NOT PRAY LIKE HOW HE DID ON PRAISE FM SOME TIME AGO WHEN PASTOR DANIEL ASK HIM TO PRAY, JUST INCASE YOU ALL FORGET WHAT HE PRAY IT WAS THE OUR FATHER PRAYER. FOOL ME ONCE , SHAME ON YOU FOOL ME TWICE , SHAME ON ME.

    Posted by UNITY FOR SVG | January 28, 2012, 22:05
    • dunce, whats wrong with the our father prayer…you guys are childlike, get out of the sand box, the post is about someone who suffered a stroke, where is the politics here…the ship of progress is missing you guys, too caught up with hating a man, really is it that serious…get off your butts and put your country first, think positive and breath positive, hope you guys dont have kids…all this hate so blind… VOTE FOR WHO YOU WANT, ITS YOUR RIGHT, RESPECT THE RIGHTS OF OTHER.

      Posted by latoya | January 29, 2012, 23:41
  6. Layota if you really had any regard at all for SVG you would not support Gonsalves or his Marxist ideologies.

    If you look at Wikileaks, Manning did not have good things to say about Gonsalves.

    As for Manning if you live by the political sword, you must be prepared to die by it.

    The Manning regime also had an illegal listening post to tap the phones of all his opponents. He is fortunate not to have had his stroke in prison. Don’t take my word for it, check out your search engines.

    Layota your either of the ignorant dunce class or a collaborator of this evil Marxist regime, or perhaps all of the above.

    As for you VincyPowa how you can call anyone deceitful, you are the hight of everything that’s wrong in Saint Vincent, I can understand you being annoyed by the Prof for exposing your ignorance and blind stupidity.
    You really are a dunce of the first order, no one I am sure will disagree with that.

    Posted by Peter | January 30, 2012, 09:45
    • The name is latoya, so much for paying attention! i air of the side of good not evil, when a person is ill its not a joke, has nothing to do with politics, my grandmother, mom, aunts all died from strokes, so there is no grinning here.please change your name from peter to hate. i am vincy to the core, don’t live there but if i was to vote, allow me my freedom……………………. am grown, you are an idiot. hope you don’t suffer a stroke

      Posted by latoya | February 1, 2012, 12:06
  7. I will like to wish Manning a speedy recovery and pray for his healing. Sickness is something that ought to teach all of the fagility of our existence and should be a very sobering reality.

    Posted by Olbap | January 31, 2012, 13:36
  8. Latoya, sorry about the spelling.

    With due respect if you don’t live here you just do not fully understand what is going on.

    If you do not live here you have no right to vote, many Vincentians who have lived abroad for years still vote, but it is ilegal.

    This regime is an evil Marxist regime. Look back at all the other I-Witness-News articles, they are available on line going back years.

    bye

    Posted by Peter | February 2, 2012, 21:21

I-Witness News’ tweets

Archives

