SVG, SVG Budget 2012

PM wore stocking to Taiwan

Prime Minister Dr. Ralph Gonsalves pose with Vincentians in Taiwan after a dinner and address last April. Gonsalves said he wore an orthopaedic stocking during the flight to Taiwan because of n injury.

KINGSTOWN, St. Vincent – Flying on an airplane for 14 hours non-stop with an injured leg is not a very comfortable experience.

And to cope with the flight from the United States to Taiwan last April, Prime Minister Dr. Ralph Gonsalves wore a tight orthopaedic stocking.

He made the disclosure in Parliament on Friday as he quoted the International Monetary Fund as saying this year “growth is expected to get a boost from construction at the airport, donor-financed projects that were approved following the natural disasters and from the opening of two new universities”.

Taiwan contributed US$2 million to the nation’s recovery after flash floods in north-eastern St. Vincent last April.

“Remember when I was going Taiwan they (the opposition) said I shouldn’t go. And I walk back with US$2 million to fix the Basin Hole Bridge in addition to existing money,” Gonsalves said.

“So what’s so bad if I take a few days off and go and talk to the President and the Foreign Minister and walk back with US$2 million and promises of some additional monies to fix up the bridge up there and to put in some additional river defences,” he further said.

“They said that there is a disaster where I am going. But I went, I was present on the disaster. In fact, I was up there with my walking stick. My foot was injured. I travelled with the injury.

“You think it’s easy to travel 14 hours and because of the injury to my foot – I don’t want to say this – I wore a tight orthopaedic stocking so that I would be able to endure the flight,” said Gonsalves, 66.

 

Discussion

3 thoughts on “PM wore stocking to Taiwan

  1. I must say I saw the stockings, what perturbed me was the suspenders and girdle that he was dressed in. Cross dressing is a common trait in dictator’s.

    Anyone have the photo’s to put on the web?

    Posted by Peter | January 15, 2012, 12:09
  2. I will not comment on anything that has to do with human health. As we get older, shti happens to us! We have to do things to support our frailities. None of us can escape. Right now, back pain killing me. Have to do all kinds of things to get a ease. This is part of the evolution of this human life. There is nothing to gloat about when we see others undergo physical weakness, incapacities and illnesses. This is not for politics. Let us sincerely wish the Hon. PM wellness and that he finds ease in whatever discomfort he may have in his health.

    Posted by Olbap | January 16, 2012, 13:12
  3. OLBAP, are you talking about his brain?

    Posted by Peter | January 16, 2012, 22:42

Archives

