SVG

Leader of the Opposition’s Christmas Message

A meaningful Christmas

By Hon. Arnhim Eustace, Leader of the Opposition

Leader of the Opposition Arnhim Eustace.

This year, I had intended to give in to the not-too-subtle urging of my wife and children to spend a family Christmas in New Jersey. I could think of nothing more enticing than the chance to behold for the first time my new granddaughter, Nneka, in her own environment; to stay proudly in the home of my son Ajene and daughter-in-law Ijeoma recently bought; to be regaled with stories by my six-year-old grandson, Ayinde; to check in on my sister Merle and her family; and to catch up with US-based friends on whom I have not laid eyes in years.

Plans were dashed when I considered the staggering cost of air travel and extended Christmas feasting abroad. If I made the trip, I would have less of my salary available to help meet the greater needs of the increasing number in East Kingstown and elsewhere in St. Vincent who have nothing.

I don’t need to point out that similar sacrifices are being made all across St. Vincent and the Grenadines – to make do with less for the self to serve the greater good. Parents are making cloth dolls rather than buying toys; business owners are skipping bonuses in order to pay salaries in the new year; families are planning simple meals because there may be no feast for Christmases to come.

I am fortunate that my son and his young family decided, in the circumstances, to move the festivities from New Jersey to Ratho Mill. They were all I really wanted for Christmas anyway. But my son too prioritized: his children’s sense of identity as West Indians was more important than buying a video game console or new wardrobe.

With five loaves and two small fish, Jesus Christ fed a multitude. When we celebrate His birthday, let’s pay homage not merely to His nativity, but to the lessons He was sent to teach us in order that we might be saved.

Across the globe, from Bethlehem to Hairouna, let’s endeavour to be Christ-like. Let’s make personal sacrifices today so that all may have a better tomorrow.

I wish for St. Vincent and the Grenadines a blessed Christmas!

Follow our FeedFollow on FacebookFollow on Twitter

Discussion

9 thoughts on “Leader of the Opposition’s Christmas Message

  1. Please I wish someone could help me for the
    christmas.

    Hi I’m pleading for help for my cousin Orson delpleche….A week ago this young man had a bad accident in petit bordel…The latest information I got he’s in very bad shape……A surgery is needed ..unless somebody signed he will not be given this surgery…he’ll eventually die…..this young man is on his own.. his family are not around..I just don’t no how to contact them overseas…….please I don’t know why someone need to signed a piece of paper at the hospital in St.Vincent for their lives to be save………I’m very sad right now …if he don’t get this surgery soon he’ll DIE……..Please help.

    Posted by muah | December 24, 2011, 13:51
  2. MUAH IS THAT FOR REAL, WHY SO, PLEASE PLEASE EXPLAIN.

    Posted by UNITY FOR SVG | December 25, 2011, 02:29
  3. Do you really call this a CHRISTMAS MESSAGE?????? Arnhim Eustace you were EXPIRED on 28th March 2001!!! The STORES and SUPERMARKETS couldn’t even keep their shelves stocked. St Vincent and the Grenadines in great hands!!! MERRY CHRISTMAS AND A HAPPY NEW YEAR!!

    Posted by no-nonsense | December 26, 2011, 12:01
  4. Unity For SVG, shut up and get your head back in the trough.

    MUAH, I am very sorry to here about your cousin, my advice is to get in touch with Francis, Gonsalves said he has more money than the state of St.Vincent at his disposal. I am not being facetious, get in touch with him, he is the only man I know in SVG with such immense wealth.

    Posted by Peter | December 26, 2011, 12:31
  5. Muah you sound like a con!

    Posted by jason | December 27, 2011, 00:20
  6. That message was almost empty. I know you can do better.Glad you found your way towards the end.

    Posted by justice | December 28, 2011, 12:50
  7. why is it whenever I try to read the PM’s Christmas Message the computer I am using snaps?

    Posted by justice | December 28, 2011, 12:52
  8. In one way or another, the member nation must accept in thought, spirit and action the basic premise of their institutions that men of all races, beliefs and status share some essential common goals.

    From this premise, no great and easy actions follow as corollaries. The representatives of peoples and nations can only come together with open and objective minds and willing hearts to engage in dialogue, without rigid dogmas and slogans and without violence.

    Working in this way achieves no instant Utopia. It may, however, enable us to achieve together what it is possible to achieve and to move forward steadily, if not always in great haste, with some degree of harmony and mutual understanding.

    Posted by Francelia Mckenzie Duke | December 29, 2011, 10:27
  9. What?

    Posted by Peter | December 31, 2011, 11:01

I-Witness News’ tweets

Archives

